Golf (W)

This is Sun Devil Women’s Golf

ASU Women's Golf by the Numbers

8 – NCAA Team Championships
5 – Pac-12 Golfers of the Year
5 – Honda Award Winners
4 – Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) Freshman of the Year
5 – Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) Player of the Years
10 – Individual National Champions
17 – Conference Medalists
16 – Conference Team Championships
35 NCAA Championship Appearances (Most All-Time)
27 Consecutive Regional Appearance (T-Most All-Time)

Individual National Champions (10)

2017: Monica Vaughn
2008: Azahara Muñoz
1999: Grace Park
1995: Kristel Mourgue d’Algue
1994: Emilee Klein 
1985: Danielle Ammaccapane
1970: Cathy Gaughan
1969: Jane Bastanchury-Booth
1962: Carol Sorenson
1960: Joanne Gunderson-Carner


Sun Devil Golf History


In fall 2018, Sun Devil Athletics unveiled its new state-of-the-art practice facility and the new home for Sun Devil Golf at Papago Golf Course. The Thunderbirds organization, who are committed to investing and growing the game of golf in Arizona, made a generous commitment to the new facility, which is named The Thunderbirds Golf Complex.
The Thunderbirds Golf Complex, designed by Douglas Fredrickson Architects and built by Rummel Contruction Inc., is a 7,000-square foot facility featuring a grand entry lobby, national championship displays, a team gym and locker rooms for both men's and women's teams, a fueling station, study lounge, team lounge, indoor hitting bays and more.

Producing Pros

Arizona State is known for its dominance in collegiate women’s golf but it is also known for its prowess for preparing and turning out some of the top golfers on the professional circuit. The list of LPGA professionals from ASU is infinite, but recent Sun Devil golfers to find success at the professional level are 2010 LPGA Rookie of the Year Azahara Muñoz, 2009 LET Rookie of the Year and LPGA Major Championship winner Anna Nordqvist, 2012 LET Rookie of the Year and earnings winner Carlota Ciganda. Since 2009, six Sun Devil golfers have reached the LPGA tour (Nordqvist, Munoz, Ciganda, Jennifer Johnson, Jaclyn Sweeney, and Giulia Molinaro).

Sun Devils in the LPGA

Danielle Ammaccapane
Brandie Burton
JoAnne Carner
Carlota Ciganda
Michelle Estill
Heather Farr
Amy Fruhwirth
Jennifer Johnson

Jimin Kang
Emilee Klein
Lauri Merten
Alice Miller
Giulia Molinaro
Azahara Muñoz
Anna Nordqvist
Juliana Murcia Ortiz

Grace Park
Pearl Sinn
Louise Stahle
Linnea Strom
Jaclyn Sweeney
Tina Tombs
Wendy Ward
Heather Bowie Young


In addition to prioritizing success on the course, Coach Farr-Kaye puts an emphasis on success in the classroom. The Sun Devils have a long list of Academic All-Americans, detailed below. ASU also held the monopoly on the Edith Cummings Munson Award, given nationally to the highest achieving golfer athletically and academically, for three straight years as Azahara Munoz became the first back-to-back winner in 2008-09, followed by Julianna Murcia in 2010.

Also dominant in the Pac-12 Conference academically, Munoz (’09), Murcia (’10), Giulia Molinaro (’12), Noemi Jimenez (’15), and Roberta Liti ('18) each received the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete award for their achievements in the athletic and academic arenas.

Academic All-Americans
(51 since 2003)


  • Sofia Anokhina (WGCA)
  • Olivia Mehaffey (WGCA)
  • Alexandra Forsterling (WGCA)


  • Madison Kerley (WGCA)
  • Olivia Mehaffey (WGCA)
  • Sophia Zeeb (WGCA)
  • Roberta Liti (WGCA)


  • Roberta Liti (WGCA)
  • Monica Vaughn (WGCA)
  • Olivia Mehaffey (WGCA)
  • Madison Kerley (WGCA)
  • Sophia Zeeb (WGCA)


  • Madison Kerley (NGCA)
  • Roberta Liti (NGCA)
  • Sophia Zeeb (NGCA)
  • Monica Vaughn (NGCA)


  • Ashleigh Greenham (NGCA)
  • Sophia Zeeb (NGCA)
  • Roberta Liti (NGCA)
  • Monica Vaughn (NGCA)
  • Emilie Alonso (NGCA)
  • Noemi Jimenez (NGCA)


  • Emilie Alonso (WGCA)
  • Noemi Jimenez (WGCA)
  • Justine Lee (WGCA)
  • Daniela Ordonez (WGCA)


  • Emilie Alonso (WGCA)
  • Noemi Jimenez (WGCA)
  • Justine Lee (WGCA)
  • Daniela Ordonez (WGCA)


Coaching Staff

In June 2015, Missy Farr-Kaye was named the 10th head coach of the then-seven-time NCAA champion Arizona State women’s golf team after serving for 15 years as an assistant and associate head coach under Melissa Luellen. In 2017, Farr-Kaye led the Sun Devils to their nation-leading eighth NCAA title and was named National Coach of the Year, as well as Regional and Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

“This is my dream job in every sense of the word,” said Farr-Kaye. “To become the head women’s golf coach of my alma mater is the pinnacle of my career and I have a personal, vested interest in the success of our program. Our goal is to continue to bring home the national title year in, year out. Arizona State has championship expectations and I intend to deliver.”

An accomplished golfer in her own right, Farr-Kaye was a member of the Sun Devil golf team under Hall of Fame head coach Linda Vollstedt and helped Arizona State bring home its first of seven NCAA titles as a senior in 1990. Farr-Kaye graduated from Arizona State in 1990 with a degree in organizational communications.

In November 2016, Farr-Kaye hired former Sun Devil teammate Michelle Estill as assistant coach. Farr-Kaye and Estill were teammates under legendary head coach Linda Vollstedt and Estill graduated from ASU with a B.S. in Business Management in 1989. After ASU, Estill was the 1991 LPGA Rolex Rookie of the Year and has made many contributions to the association as a playing member (1991-2006), as well as on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee (1996-98), and as President (1998).

The Latest